~Nature Girl, Herbal Girl~

Over the past decade, I have dived deeper into the realm of herbal healing with interesting results.

It is always important to note two things: your general sensitivity and tolerance.

You may be eager to address an issue or solve it completely ASAP. Nature can only be encouraged, not rushed. Western medicine operates on a different plane as far as approach and outcome. Note the differences.

Just because something is natural does not mean a haphazard angle should be taken. It is an art as much as it is a science.

I have a sensitive constitution. Unfortunately, I have not been spared as far as reactions.

For instance, California Poppy. A sedative with benefits in the chronic pain department, it is definitely a medicinal marvel to exercise great caution with. Its effects are on par with a combination of xanax and codeine.

The first night I took it, it was in tea form. I have inherited anxiety and its been no picnic. The infamous California Poppy I was vaguely familiar with and bought a half ounce of the dried herb from a local shop. I mixed it with oatstraw (which is mild like chamomile) and let it sit for about ten minutes.

The first night it worked like a charm. The second night, it provoked an anxious reaction. Too much of a good thing? I would say so.

Licorice root is a popular and effective herb. Like many herbs, it has been used for centuries. Its fifty times sweeter than sugar. It has been used for respiratory ailments, viral/bacterial/fungal infections and so on.

Tonight, I had a cup of “calming tea” which contained lavender, peppermint, chamomile, lemon balm and licorice. Licorice was an unusual ingredient. The batch was too strong and I experienced mild adrenal stimulation (due to the licorice). Sure, I feel great now but not when I am suppose to be resting for the night!

My advice to you is simply thus:

Know your body. You have to live in it. No one will cherish it or care for it as much as you.

Establish the sensitivity or strength of your constitution.

Connect with your superiors. Seek the plant but heed the master.

Leave a Reply

